Skip to main content
The 1820 Settler Correspondence
 as preserved in the National Archives, Kew
 and edited by Sue Mackay

JARMAN, Mrs.M (mother of Thomas JARMAN), 1821

National Archives, Kew, CO48/56, 133

43 Half Moon Street

Bishopsgate Without

21 June 1821


The person who takes the liberty of addressing you is the mother of a young man named Thomas JARMAN, who with his wife and child went to the Cape on board the Weymouth in COX's Party, Jan'y 1820, as one of the settlers.

He has written to me since his arrival at that place expressing himself highly satisfied with his situation, but at the same time requesting to be furnished with sundry articles as earthenware, culinary utensils, medicines and wearing apparel. I have accordingly filled a cask with such articles but have not been able to find any means of conveyance; no ship sailing direct for Algoa Bay. If I send it to Table Bay I fear the expense of conveying it to Algoa Bay will be more than he is able to pay.

It has occurred to my mind that it may be in your power to direct me as to the best mode of conveyance. Should you condescend to grant me any information on the subject it will be most gratefully received.

I am Sir with great respect

Your hbl serv't


PS I have rec'd three letters from my son expressive of his satisfaction. As contrary reports have been circulated any persons interested in the success of the colony are welcome to peruse my letter.

[Note from GOULBURN]

Acquaint him [sic] that we have no means of forwarding these articles & that the better course for her to pursue will be to ship them for the Cape and to apprize her son of their having been so sent when it is probable he may have the means of getting them conveyed to the new settlement.

  • Hits: 6185