Skip to main content
The 1820 Settler Correspondence
 as preserved in the National Archives, Kew
 and edited by Sue Mackay

pre 1820 Settler Correspondence before emigration

ALL the 1819 correspondence from CO48/41 through CO48/46 has been transcribed whether or not the writers emigrated to the Cape. Those written by people who did become settlers, as listed in "The Settler Handbook" by M.D. Nash (Chameleon Press 1987), are labelled 1820 Settler and the names of actual settlers in the text appear in red.

PAWLE, James, 1820 Settler

National Archives, Kew CO48/45, 122

No. 33 Uxbridge Street

Newington Causeway

Thursday Augt 12th 1819


Having a desire to Emigrate to the Cape of Good Hope & being unacquainted with the proper mode of obtaining the requisite information I trust you will excuse the liberty I am now taking in thus addressing you upon the subject.

I am a Medical man who has been respectably settled in Practice but now much reduced from various severe pecuniary losses and disappointments. Finding it very difficult & indeed almost impossible (from the want of friends &c) to recover myself or to procure a living for my family I am desirous of Emigrating to the Cape, where I feel confident that I may (with the proper industry & perseverance) in course of time somewhat recover myself. It may be necessary to mention that I have a wife and two young children.

Your early attention to the above will very particularly oblige, Sir

Your most Obed Humble Servt





National Archives, Kew CO48/45, 388

32 Gt St Helens

Novr 22nd 1819


As the principal Medical attendant in Mr Thomas WILLSON's party (that is about to proceed to the Cape of Good Hope) I have to beg the favor of your furnishing me with some information as to the extent of the supply of Medicines & Instruments, which I understand will be given by Government but more particularly, as to trusses for Ruptures, it appearing probable such accidents may not be very infrequent and therefore that a supply of them will be absolutely necessary.

The favor of an early reply will very much oblige, Sir

Your most respectful Obed Servt


[GOULBURN's notation] Refer to the Navy board with whom I believe the necessary discretions rest

[The letter below is filed with the Thomas WILLSON correspondence in CO48/46. It was addressed to Thomas WILLSON]

32 Gt.St.Helens

Dec 15th 1819


I was yesterday with the Agent of Transports at Deptford and had the mortification to learn that it is the intention of Government to remove me from your party. I should certainly be very sorry to create difficulty but as you are aware of the engagement that exists between Mr. COCK and myself to render mutual assistance, I should hope by your representation of the case to Earl BATHURST that such removal may be abandoned.

I am Sir

Your most obed't serv't


  • Hits: 6349