Skip to main content
The 1820 Settler Correspondence
 as preserved in the National Archives, Kew
 and edited by Sue Mackay

pre 1820 Settler Correspondence before emigration

ALL the 1819 correspondence from CO48/41 through CO48/46 has been transcribed whether or not the writers emigrated to the Cape. Those written by people who did become settlers, as listed in "The Settler Handbook" by M.D. Nash (Chameleon Press 1987), are labelled 1820 Settler and the names of actual settlers in the text appear in red.

BALES, Anthony

National Archives, Kew CO48/41, 759

London 24 December 1819

No. 28 Somerford Street

North Street

Bethnal Green

My Lord,

I beg leave to state to your Lordship that on the 16th October I deposited with Mr. Thomas WILLSON of Chelsea the sum of fifteen Pounds to authorize me to proceed as a Settler to the New Colony of the Cape of Good Hope, but my Father dying shortly after I was desired by the Executors of his Will not to leave the Country till his affairs were finally arranged, which cannot be affected before ten or twelve months nor a division of property take place without my signature.

I beg leave to further to add that under these circumstances I am now prevented and I therefore solicit your Lordship will be so good as to direct me as to the channel through which I should apply to recover the deposit, and also to inform me whether I shall be able to avail myself of a future opportunity to join Mr Thos. WILLSONs party

I have the honour to be My Lord

Your Lordships most Obedient Very Humble Servant

Anthony BALES

  • Hits: 5612